A Coffee Moment

And now for a bit of light humour…  Or dark, if you drink your coffee black!  I confess to having an irrational fear that there might not be decent coffee in the house at breakfast time.  The desire to buy another bag of coffee beans every time I enter a grocery store is ever-present.  Why?  Well, for one thing I love the taste, the smell, the process of grinding the beans… and, oh yeah, I am incoherent without it!  Want proof?  This morning while fixing my son’s hot chocolate, I referred to a marshmallow as a ‘mushroom’ and then proceeded to call a ‘movie’ a ‘mall’.  When he looked at me rather quizzically, I looked down at my half-full coffee cup and said, “Well that’s why.  I haven’t finished my first cup yet!”  No joke.  After the first cup, my words fall into place.  After the second cup, I will have life sorted for the next five years.  Give me a third and I virtually turn into Wonder Woman.  Don’t laugh!  I did say ‘virtually’.  And what would my first act as Wonder Woman be?  To be get more coffee, of course!   Hmmm, can you say ‘addiction’?  I am certain I could survive without coffee, I just don’t want to…

About Lois Loban Stuckenbruck

Trained as a Ballerina, then completed a BA in Business Adm and English Literature at Milligan College. More recently trained to be a lay pastor (Reader) in the Church of England. Wife of a Biblical Scholar, Mother of three. I'm an American who has also lived many years in England and Germany (currently Munich). I have worked as an Editorial Assistant, Systems Manager (Xerox Stars on Ethernet Network), and several positions in higher education fundraising (Alumni and Development).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Coffee Moment

  1. bevkay says:

    I feel this way about coffee. Recently, while having some stomach problems, coffee suddenly held no appeal for me. When I related this strange phenomenon to my son in Texas, he said, “Mom, get to a hospital – you are definitely sick!” Finally, after a month of being a tea drinker, the craving for coffee is finally returning. I think I might survive this illness…

Leave a Reply

