Songs of Blessing

One never knows when an experience will return to bless another person. There is a lady in our village who was widowed last November. Her name is Renate. We met while doing the World Day of Prayer Service together here in the village in March. She invited me to have coffee and cake one day afterwards. (She doesn’t know any English, but lived ten years in Brazil and knows what it is like to be a foreignor.) During that visit, she told me that she is very lonely. She had ‘made the mistake of making friends only with people older than herself, and now they are all gone.‘ I told her I was lonely too, but that we had adopted a puppy, who was keeping me busy. She replied with, ‘Oh you must bring him by. I love dogs. He can play in my garden while we visit.’ As a result, Wolfie and I have become regular visitors at her house.

This morning, we were talking about schools here in Germany. She was lamenting that her children were taught English songs at school instead of German. I said, ‘But German children’s songs are so beautiful!’ And I started singing, ‘Komm Lieber Mai und mache die Baüme wieder grün…’ [Come dear May and make the trees green again… ] (the music was composed by Mozart). Renate lit up like a light bulb as she sang the song with me. At the end, I started another song, ‘Kuckuck, Kuckuck, ruft’s aus dem Wald, Lasset uns singen, tanzen und springen! Frühiling, Frühiling wird es nun bald.’ [Cuckoo, cuckoo calls from the woods. Let us sing, dance and leap about! Spring, Spring is coming soon.] Renate asked how I know these songs. I explained that my daughter was born in Germany. As baby gifts, we were given several German songbooks for children. One of them had particularly pretty pictures, which my daughter loved. I learned the songs so I could sing them to her while she browsed the pictures. Renate and I sang a couple more songs together, and she said, ‘I so love to sing. I haven’t sung in ages. Thank you so much!’

Then we noticed that Wolfie had succeeded in trampling her lovely, yellow pansies and breaking the saucer under their pot. Thankfully, Renate was in such a good mood from the singing, she wasn’t too bothered by it. Whew!

About Lois Loban Stuckenbruck

Trained as a Ballerina, then completed a BA in Business Adm and English Literature at Milligan College. More recently trained to be a lay pastor (Reader) in the Church of England. Wife of a Biblical Scholar, Mother of three. I'm an American who has also lived many years in England and Germany (currently Munich). I have worked as an Editorial Assistant, Systems Manager (Xerox Stars on Ethernet Network), and several positions in higher education fundraising (Alumni and Development).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

