Why Truth with Mercy?

Since this is my first ever blog, I should set some context for you.  First, I am NOT a Biblical Scholar.  That is my husband.  If you want to read excellent Biblical exegesis based on the old languages and historical context, read his books and articles.  I am not really an expert on anything, though I have more than average knowledge of a wide variety of things:  ballet, international moving, educational fundraising, event organization – to name a few.  I will admit to having more than average knowledge of all things Bible.  After all, I have lived 28 years with an expert on the topic!  Even before I met him, though, I had already read through the Bible and attended a college that required courses on the Bible.  More recently I trained as a lay pastor (Reader) for the Church of England.

This blog, however, isn’t about scripture – Christian or otherwise.  It is simply my musings on how to live life honestly – with yourself, with others, and yes, with God (however you may perceive Him).  I may at times, refer to scripture, or even post a sermon, but that isn’t the main reason for this blog.  My goal is to entertain the reader (and myself).  If you learn something along the way, we will consider it a bonus.

The title ‘truth with mercy’ has a story of its own.  I was born in Texas, raised in Oklahoma, to ‘say what you mean and mean what you say’ and to ‘call a spade, a spade’.  Bluntness was my specialty.  I was known for saying exactly what I saw as I saw it.  (I still do whenever I can get away with it.)  However, in our first year of marriage, what became a signature argument ended with my husband yelling the words at me:  “There IS such a thing as TRUTH WITH MERCY.”  I learned quickly that he was the sensitive type.  Instead of saying, “You stink”, I learned to say very gently, “Dear, did you not have a shower today?”

Years later, one of my bosses in England asked my husband, “Does she always nag so very nicely?”  I hope hubby was proud.  He taught me well.  But I have found there is a downside to saying everything in a candy-coated way.  Our children found it very difficult to tell what exactly they were supposed to do.  When every command is given as a question, the hearer tends to think they have a choice!  This does lead to some confusion. So one of the questions I would like to pursue is:  How does one say the truth and still communicate clearly without hurting the hearer emotionally?

About Lois Loban Stuckenbruck

Trained as a Ballerina, then completed a BA in Business Adm and English Literature at Milligan College. More recently trained to be a lay pastor (Reader) in the Church of England. Wife of a Biblical Scholar, Mother of three. I'm an American who has also lived many years in England and Germany (currently Munich). I have worked as an Editorial Assistant, Systems Manager (Xerox Stars on Ethernet Network), and several positions in higher education fundraising (Alumni and Development).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why Truth with Mercy?

  1. Gayle says:

    Welcome to the world of blogging, Lois!

    Love the story of the blog’s name. I believe the question / command issue plagues many of us.

    Looking forward to enjoying your future posts.

  2. Daniel Bussell says:

    Awesome first post! Maybe hurt is unavoidable? I believe hurt should be kept to a minimum in everyday life but the truth should be unavoidable. Tone is often the most offensive to me. Someone could be saying “I Love You” in a hateful way and it would make me feel terrible! I’m looking forward to your insight on this. It’s a daily struggle.

Leave a Reply

